City of Lawrence Transportation Commission February 5, 2018 Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT: Charlie Bryan, Mark Hurt, Steve Evans, John Ziegelmeyer,

Erin Paden, Donna Hultine, Michele Dillon, Kathryn Schartz,

Ron May

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

STAFF PRESENT: David Cronin, Public Works Department

Amanda Sahin, Public Works Department

Jessica Mortinger, MPO

A complete video recording of the meeting is available on the City's website at https://lawrenceks.org/boards/transportation-commission/

The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Charlie Bryan at 6:00 p.m. in the City Commission Room, City Hall, 6 E. 6th Street.

ITEM NO. 1:

Approve of Dec 4, 2018 Regular Meeting Minutes and December 14, 2018 Study Session Minutes

Moved by Commissioner Hurt, seconded by Commissioner Schartz, to approve minutes. The motion for Dec 4, 2018 passed 9-0. The motion for Dec 14, 2018 Study Session Minutes passed 8-0. Commissioner Ziegelmeyer abstained since he was not present at the Dec 14, 2018 study session.

ITEM NO. 2:

General Public Comment

Public Discussion:

Jeanne Fridell – Woodlawn Elementary Principle – concerns about pedestrian rail crossing at 4th St

ITEM NO. 3:

Elect Chair and Vice Chair for 2018

Commissioner Evans nominated Commissioner Paden for 2018 Transportation Commission Chair. Commissioner Hurt nominated Commissioner Ziegelmeyer for 2018 Transportation Commission Chair. Commissioner Ziegelmeyer declined the nomination.

The Commission voted 9-0 to elect Commissioner Paden as the 2018 Transportation Commission Chair.

Commissioner Schartz nominated Commissioner Evans for Vice Chair.

The Commission voted 9-0 to elect Commissioner Evans as the 2018 Transportation Commission Vice Chair.

ITEM NO. 4:

E 9th Street, New Hampshire Street to Delaware Street Field Check Plans

Staff Presentation:

David Cronin and consultants from Bartlett & West presented the Field Check plans for East 9th Street, New Hampshire Street to Delaware Street

Several members of the public provided comments.

Moved by Commissioner Hultine, seconded by Commissioner Ziegelmeyer, to recommend acceptance of the Field Check Plans.

The motion carried, 9-0.

ITEM NO. 5:

Lawrence Loop Alignment Study

Staff Presentation:

Jessica Mortinger presented the Lawrence Loop Alignment Study. Staff recommends acceptance of the study.

Moved by Commissioner May, seconded by Commissioner Dillon, to recommend acceptance of the Lawrence Loop Alignment Study.

The motion carried, 9-0.

ITEM NO. 6:

Non-motorized Projects Prioritization Policy

Staff Presentation:

Amanda Sahin presented the Transportation Commission Non-motorized Projects Prioritization Policy, TC18-001. Staff recommends approval of the policy.

Moved by Commissioner Hurt, second by Commissioner Schartz, to approve the Transportation Commission Non-motorized Projects Prioritization Policy, TC18-001.

The motion carried, 9-0.

<u>ITEM NO. 7:</u>

CDBG Application Proposed Project List

Staff Presentation:

Amanda Sahin presented the proposed project list for the 2018 CDBG Application. Staff recommends approval of the proposed project list.

Moved by Commissioner Ziegelmeyer, seconded by Commissioner Schartz, to approve the 2018 CDBG Application Proposed Project List with the exception of removing Naismith Drive and adding other gaps along the 19th Street corridor in east Lawrence.

The motion carried, 9-0.

ITEM NO. 8

Funding Split for 2017 and 2018 Bike/Ped Funding

Staff Presentation:

Amanda Sahin presented the recommended funding split for the 2017 and 2018 Bike/Ped funding. Staff recommends approval of the proposed funding split.

Moved by Commissioner Dillon, seconded by Commissioner May, to recommend approval of proposed 2017 and 2018 Bike/Ped Funding.

The motion carried, 9-0.

ITEM NO. 9

Staff Items

Amanda Sahin presented a memo on the Traffic Calming and Signage Moratorium.

Amanda Sahin informed the Commission that the Police Department is currently working with Public Works to deploy the speed-monitoring trailer in areas with speeding complaints.

David Cronin informed the Commission that the City of Lawrence Public Works and Parks & Recreation staff received the 2017 Kansas Ready Mix Concrete Association award for the Baldwin Creek Recreational Trail.

David Cronin provided an update on the signage at 10th Street and Indiana Street.

David Cronin provided an update on the cut-through traffic on Haskell Lane at 29th Street.

ITEM NO. 10

Commission Items

Complete Streets Subcommittee Minutes December 14, 2018 and January 4, 2018.

Commissioner Bryan mentioned that Kingston Drive Traffic Calming would be on City Commission regular agenda on Feb 6, 2018. The staff recommendation on the item is to deny the request, the Transportation Commission recommended approval of the request at the December 2017 meeting.

ITEM NO. 11

Calendar

Next Study Session is February 28, 2018 at 3:30 p.m. in City Commission Room.

ITEM NO. 12

<u>Adjournment</u>

Moved by Commissioner Ziegelmeyer, seconded by Commissioner Hultine, to adjourn at 8:58 p.m.

The motion carried, 9-0.

Transportation Commission February 5, 2018 Regular Meeting

February 5, 2018 Regular N	leeting
Name	Initials
Members	
Charlie Bryan	<i>(</i> , , , , ,)
Law DGCO Health Dept. Representative	(M)
Donna Hultine	A
University of Kansas	
Kathryn Schartz	VS
Multi-Modal Transportation / Planning Eng Rep	
Mark Hurt	W 11_
PTAC representative	MES
Michele Dillon	440
Pedestrian Representative	$ \mathcal{V} $
Steve Evans	
Planning/Engineering Field Representative	
Erin Paden	
Bicyclist Representative	
John Ziegelmeyer	
Local Business Representative	
Ron May	M-C
USD-497	
City Staff	
David Cronin	1 1 1
City Engineer	
Charles Soules	
Public Works Director	
Jessica Mortinger	1
Senior Transportation Planner	
Amanda Sahin	,
Transportation Engineer	
Zach Baker	
Project Engineer	
Others Present	and the second

Transportation Commission February 5, 2018 Regular Meeting Sign In Sheet

Name	Contact Info
e Kome	Contact and
Kunt Buch	(ph)
Funt Buel	(e-mail)
John Navamore	(ph)
John Maramore	(e-mail)
	(ph)
Kirsty cumba Stephens	(e-mail)
Kirstin (umba Stephans Brue Eggers	(ph)
Drue Liggers	(e-mail)
	(ph)
15h 1200	(e-mail)
Josh Day Con Jan Con Jan	(ph)
Virall Sugar	(e-mail)
	(ph)
S'Sauve Hastre	(e-mail)
Muhant Almon	(ph)
Muhan Amon	(e-mail)
1. 1.	(ph)
An Werne	(e-mail)
/	(ph)
	(e-mail)
	(ph)
,	(e-mail)
	(ph)
	(e-mail)
	(ph)
	(e-mail)
	(ph)
	(e-mail)

Transportation Commission February 5, 2018 Regular Meeting Sign In Sheet

Name	Contact Info
	(ph) 785-330-488/
Jeanne Fridell	
_	(e-mail) tridell (susa 947.00)
XTWalsh	(e-mail) JFridell @usd497009 (ph) (e-mail) 732 R. I. 6604H
n / Waxan	
CasanCalbern	
Casey Colbern Dane Martin	(ph) Bartlett & West
Laherartin	
	(e-mail)
	(ph)
	(e-mail)
	1, ,