PARKS AND RECREATION HOLDS ANNUAL LUNCHEON, YEARLY AWARD HONORS

Lawrence Parks and Recreation Department held its annual Holiday Luncheon and Teamwork Recognition earlier this month. During the luncheon, the Tom Wilkerson Teamwork Awards were also presented.

The Tom Wilkerson Teamwork Award, established in 1999, has three categories: category I and II are for an individual or group of employees who exemplify teamwork in both full-time and part-time capacities; the third is given to an outside agency or city department, individual or group who has assisted the department in obtaining success. The category II award was added in 2004 to recognize part-time employees.

Nominations are taken from employees and then reviewed by a sub-committee of the Employee Satisfaction Committee. Recipients are then announced at the department's annual holiday luncheon.

Bobby Wilson, administrative support at the Community Building; Jeff Curtis, part-time employee at Holcom Park Recreation Center and baseball scorekeeper; and Phil Wente, volunteer DJ for Special Populations programs were the category I, II and III recipients of the award respectively.

Wilson was nominated for his willingness to help coworkers and the general public. Curtis was nominated for being a dependable employee, consistently manning the scoreboard at baseball games, as well as providing staff with a critique and summary of games. Wente volunteer DJs at Special Populations programs including Coffeehouse, Halloween parties and spring theme parties, and he goes the extra mile to get to know the participants.



Bobby Wilson receives the 2009 Teamwork Award, Category I at the department's annual holiday luncheon.

Division and the Aquatics Division. Category III: Walt Ward, engineering aide; Tracy Williams, wellness coordinator for the school

district; Frank Williams, flower planting volunteer; Tom Orzulak and the Street Division of the Public Works Department; the Utilities Department of the Engineering Division including Bob Brower, Other nominees included: category I: the forestry division consisting of: Jim Beebe, Mark Graves and Heath Bowman; Brian Sharp, electrical technician; and Jimmy Gibbs, aquatic manager.

Category II: nominees included: Susan Pomeroy, part-time fitness instructor for the Recreation



Jeff Curtis receives the Teamwork Award, Category II at the department's annual holiday luncheon.

Phillip Ciesielski and Shelley Schupp; and the Public Works Department of the Engineering Division including Matt Bond, David Cronin, Chuck Soules, Shoeb Uddin, John Vannicola, Walt Ward and David Woosley.

The Teamwork Award was renamed in 2002 to honor Tom Wilkerson who served as assistant director of the department until his retirement in October 2002.