# City of Lawrence And Douglas County Bicycle Advisory Committee By-laws

## Article I

#### Purpose

Section 1. The Bicycle Advisory Committee (Committee) was established to make recommendations to the Lawrence City Commission, Douglas County Commission and the Lawrence/Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Organization (L-DC MPO) concerning issues related to bicycle use within the community. These responsibilities include making recommendations regarding the location and design of bicycle facilities, the expenditure of City, County and Federal funds for bicycle facilities, the location and design of public streets and roads for bicycle use, development of a bicycle safety education program, sponsorship and promotion of bicycle related events for the City and County, on-going renewal of the City of Lawrence Bicycle-Friendly Community designation, and other related bicycle issues. These responsibilities should be addressed as part of a Bicycle Work Plan to be submitted to both the City of Lawrence and the Douglas County Commission on an annual basis. In conjunction with the Bicycle Work Plan an annual report on proposed projects should be submitted to the City of Lawrence and Douglas County prior to the budget process of each commission.

#### Article II

#### Membership

- Section 1. The Committee shall be composed of nine members.
- Section 2. Committee members shall be residents of the City of Lawrence, Eudora, Baldwin City, Lecompton, or Douglas County.
- Section 3. Committee members shall have an interest in issues and policies regarding bicycle use.

- Section 4. Committee members shall serve three year terms, except upon initial appointments to this Committee which, may involve completing the remainder of a current appointment.
- Section 5. Committee members shall be limited to serving two (2) complete terms.
- Section 6. The Mayor of Lawrence will appoint <u>four</u> Committee members with consent of the City Commission. The Mayor of Eudora will appoint <u>one</u> Committee member with consent of the City Commission. The Mayor of Baldwin City will appoint <u>one</u> Committee member with consent of the City Commission. The Mayor of Lecompton will appoint <u>one</u> Committee member with consent of the City Commission. The Mayor of the City Commission. The Commission. The Commission of the City Commission. The Commission of the City Commission. The Commission of the City Commission, with consent of the County Commission, will appoint <u>two</u> members to represent the County.
- Section 7. If a jurisdiction decides not to participate or appoint a representative within 4 months of notice of vacancy, the BAC will have the authority to elect a member by a majority vote, That member will be eligible to serve one complete term before the non-participating jurisdiction can appoint a replacement.
- Section 8. Committee representation should include an individual from the following areas: Fire/Medical; Public Safety Department; the University of Kansas. The remaining positions shall be filled with at-large community members. Committee members may not be employed by or elected officials of the City or County they represent.

# Article III

#### Officers

- Section 1. The elected officers of the Committee shall be:
  - a. Chair
  - b. Vice-chair
- Section 2. Terms shall be for one (1) year beginning January 1.
- Section 3. Officers shall be elected at the first regularly scheduled meeting of each year.
- Section 4. The duties of the elected officers shall be:

- a. Chair
  - 1. Shall preside at all meetings of the Committee.
  - 2. Shall represent the Committee at City and County Commission meetings.
  - 3. Shall serve as the BAC representative to the L-DC MPO's Technical Advisory Committee or have the authority to appoint a representative.
- b. Vice-chair
  - 1. Shall preside at Committee meetings in the absence of the Chair.
  - 2. Shall represent the Committee at City and County Commission meetings in absence of the Chair.
- Section 5. A representative of the Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Department or other designee of the City Manger shall serve as staff liaisons to the Committee.

# Article IV

## Meetings

- Section 1. The Committee shall meet the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. unless otherwise designated by the Committee.
- Section 2. The Chairman may call special meetings provided at least three (3) full days notice is given to all Committee members and the media.

# Article V

#### Quorum

Section 1. A majority of currently appointed Committee members (5) shall constitute a quorum. A majority of those present and voting is necessary to conduct business.

# Article VI

## **Resignation Procedures**

Section 1. Upon the voluntary or involuntary (see Article VII, Section 2 and Article VIII) resignation of a Committee member, the staff liaison shall notify the Mayor of the appropriate jurisdiction or the County

Commission Chair of the appropriate facts and request that a replacement member be appointed.

# Article VII

#### Attendance

- Section 1. Committee members are expected to attend all regularly scheduled and special Committee meetings.
- Section 2. Failure to attend three (3) consecutive meetings without valid excuse and notice to the Chair or staff liaison will be deemed as automatic resignation by a Committee member.

# Article VIII

## Conduct

- Section 1. Committee members are subject to all rules and regulations as established by the City of Lawrence and/or other governmental jurisdiction and agencies having legal authority to regulate public officials' behavior and conduct.
- Section 2. No Committee member may use his/her title or office in public representations unless authorized by the Committee.

## Article IX

## Amendments

- Section 1. Amendments to these bylaws may be initiated at any time during a regular Committee meeting.
- Section 2. Passage of an amendment will require a majority vote of all Committee members.
- Section 3. Amendments shall take effect immediately unless otherwise stipulated in the amendment.

The Bicycle Advisory Committee herby adopts and approves these by-laws on this 18th Day of August 2009

Eric Struckhoff, Chair

Lawrence Douglas County Bicycle Advisory Committee