U.S. Department of Homeland Security FEMA Region VII 9221 Ward Parkway, Suite 300 Kansas City, MO 64114-3372

JUN 19 2009

Mr. David Corliss, City Manager City of Lawrence 6 East Sixth Street P.O. Box 708 Lawrence, Kansas 66044-2268



Dear Mr. Corliss:

As you know, the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is producing a new countywide Flood Insurance Study (FIS) and Digital Flood Insurance Rate Map (DFIRM) for Douglas, Jefferson and Leavenworth Counties, Kansas, as part of our Flood Map Modernization (Map Mod) program. As part of this effort, we requested information from you on the Lawrence Unit Levee to substantiate re-accreditation of the levee on the new DFIRM.

We have received the materials you submitted on May 21, 2009, to demonstrate that the Lawrence Unit Levee continues to comply with the minimum requirements outlined in Title 44 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Section 65.10, and to substantiate that adequate design, operation and maintenance systems are in place to provide reasonable assurance that protection from the base flood exists. FEMA has determined that the levee accreditation requirements outlined in 44 CFR 65.10 were addressed in the information provided. As a result, FEMA will continue to show the Lawrence Unit Levee on the new DFIRM as providing protection from the flood that has a 1-percent-chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year.

If you have additional questions regarding the levee accreditation, please contact Dawn Kinsey of my staff at (816) 283-7055.

Robert Bissell

Sincerely

Director, Mitigation Division

cc: Michael Dever, Mayor, City of Lawrence
Scott McCullough, Director, Planning and Development Services, City of Lawrence
Clyde D. Graeber, Board of County Commissioners, Leavenworth County
Chuck Magaha, Emergency Management Director, Leavenworth County
G. Craig Weinaug, County Administrator, Douglas County
Keith Browning, P.E., Director, Public Works, Douglas County
Richard Malm, Board of County Commissioners, Jefferson County
Eloise Tichenor, Director, Planning and Zoning, Jefferson County
Andrew Megrail, State of Kansas NFIP Coordinator
Don Meier, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Kansas City District
Jud Kneuvean, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Kansas City District
Senator Sam Brownback
Senator Pat Roberts
Representative Dennis Moore