TEAMWORK AWARDS ANNOUNCED AT PARKS AND RECREATION ANNUAL HOLIDAY LUNCHEON

The Lawrence Parks and Recreation Department announced the recipients of the 2007 Tom Wilkerson Teamwork Awards at its annual holiday luncheon Friday, Dec. 14.

Karen Risner, administrative support, Laurel Kupka and Levi Donals, marketing interns, and the Lawrence Mountain Bike Club and Patrol were the Category I, II and III recipients of the award respectively.

The Wilkerson Teamwork Award, established in 1999, has three categories: Category I and II are for an individual or group of employees who exemplify teamwork in both full-time and part-time capacities; the third is given to an outside agency or City department, individual or group who has assisted the department in obtaining success. The Category II award was added in 2004 to recognize part-time employees.



Ernie Shaw, interim director of Lawrence Parks and Recreation Department, and Mark Hecker, superintendent of parks maintenance, review the year 2007 wit h staff.



Karen Risner, administrative support, receives congratulations from Mark Hecker, superintendent of parks maintenance.

Nominations are taken from employees and then reviewed by Ernie Shaw, interim director of the department and a committee. Recipients are then announced at the department's annual holiday luncheon.

Risner, who began working with the department in 1992, was nominated for providing support to all the divisions and her dedication to the organization, as well as her positive attitude. Kupka and Donals, were nominated for assisting with the promotion of the department and their assistance with day-to-day operations when department staff was reallocated to another

department for a short-term basis. Donals, a recent graduate of Washburn University, Topeka, currently works in sales with Yellowbook in Kansas City, Mo. The Lawrence Mountain Bike Club and Patrol were nominated for the many volunteer

hours dedicated to the development and maintenance of trails within Riverfront Park. The club's president is Neil Taylor, fire engineer paramedic, with the Lawrence-Douglas County Fire-Medical Services.

Other nominees included: Category I: Rowan Green, park district No. 2 supervisor, and the district staff; Tony Barron, senior parks and facility maintenance; the Parks and Recreation Satisfaction Improvement Committee, including: Danny Moore, field supervisor; Brent Hill, field supervisor; Barron; Brian Sharp, electrical technician; Duane Peterson, special events supervisor; Jai Hoyer, aquatic programmer; Lynn Applegate, facilities maintenance supervisor; Mitch Young, park district No. 3 and cemeteries supervisor; Paul Baumchen, horticulturist; Rod Hoffer, field supervisor and Tim Laurent, facilities operations supervisor.

Category II: nominees included: Jake Thibodeau, part-time Tae Kwon Do instructor the Recreation Division.

Category III: Suzanne Contrel-Doyle and Steve Maceli of Maceli's, Lawrence.

The Teamwork Award was renamed in 2002 to honor Tom Wilkerson who served as assistant director of the department until his retirement in October 2002.



Ernie Shaw, interim director, presents Neil Taylor and Art King of the Lawrence Mountain Bike Club and Patrol with a 2007 Teamwork Award.